International Day of Peace

Every year on September 21st thousands of people worldwide celebrate International Day of Peace . This holiday was established in 1981 by a Resolution 36/67 of the United Nations General Assembly to concentrate the efforts of UNO in promoting the ideals of peace as well as to show how the solidary actions of people worldwide may have positive impacts on establishing Peace in the World.

In establishing the International Day of Peace, the United Nations General Assembly decided that it would be appropriate:

“to devote a specific time to concentrate the efforts of the United Nations and its Member States, as well as of the whole of mankind, to promoting the ideals of peace and to giving positive evidence of their commitment to peace in all viable ways… (The International Day of Peace) should be devoted to commemorating and strengthening the ideals of peace both within and among all nations and peoples.”

” This will serve as a reminder to all peoples that our Organization, with all its limitations, is a living instrument in the service of peace and should serve all of us here within the Organization as a constantly pealing bell reminding us that our permanent commitment, above all interests or differences of any kind, is to peace. May this Peace Day indeed be a day of peace.”

“The Assembly, reaffirming the contribution that the observance and celebration of the International Day of Peace make in strengthening the ideals of peace and alleviating tensions and causes of conflict, (decided that) beginning with the fifty-seventh session, the Day should be observed on 21 September each year, with this date to be brought to the attention of all people for the celebration and observance of peace.”

“Declares that the International Day of Peace shall henceforth be observed as a day of global ceasefire and non-violence, an invitation to all nations and people to honour a cessation of hostilities for the duration of the Day…”

I’d like to report the invitation of the Organizational Committee of International Day of Peace to participate in celebrations of this day. There are many ways to do it, for example:

• Express your approval and support for the International Day of Peace getting registered on the site

• Another very simple way: on September 21st together with UNO General Assembly and millions of people around the world observe a minute of silence for peace and non-violence at 12 noon local time, individually or with the whole organization or getting together with pupils or students.

• You may make a celebration for the children at children’s Home, or veterans, or plant a tree of Peace, or carry some volunteer project which will touch the subject of intercultural and international relations. The thematic of the day is desired to be based on the ideology of peace building.

Ideas of how to celebrate the day are dime a dozen. You can get acquainted with them here

WHAT: The International Day of Peace provides an opportunity for individuals, organizations and nations to create practical acts of Peace on a shared date. Use the International Day of Peace annually to highlight the Decade for a Culture of Peace and Non-Violence for the Children of the World, 2001 to 2010.

WHEN: Annually, 21 September – The International Day of Peace

WHERE: Wherever you are.

WHO: You and all who care about building Cultures of Peace for the children of this and future generations.

WHY: To mark our individual and collective progress toward building Cultures of Peace, and serve as a reminder of our permanent commitment to Peace, above all interests and differences of any kind.

Interestingly this day coincides with Armenian Day of Independence. It is always celebrated by open-air concerts, fire-works, and the youth going randomly from one café to another. Never heard of any volunteering that day. The amazing peculiarity of International Day of Peace is that you make local efforts, but thanks to thousands of other enthusiasts like you, they may make considerable and apparent changes

I have several ideas. What about you? If you are interested and you are already thinking about it, let me know (zarchka-777@rambler.ru). I will join you with the greatest pleasure as this is a great opportunity to unite our efforts and make a real Service for Peace.

May Peace Prevail On Earth.

13 Responses to “International Day of Peace”

  1. Onnik Krikorian Says:

    You know, it’s strange. All these International Days set up by the United Nations, but nobody really seems to observe them at all. In fact, I have a greater awareness of such days now that I’m living in Armenia. In the UK, I don’t think I ever even heard of International Children’s Day.
    Still, would be nice if something were to happen given recent news in Lebanon. However, I have to wonder if Armenians — and Turks, Azerbaijanis and Georgians — are able and even willing to recognize such a day when frozen conflicts and mutual ethnic hatreds are as strong as they ever were a decade ago.
    Of course, the same goes for Americans, Brits, Iraqis, Lebanese, Israelis etc. However, although many of my friends believe in peace and understanding between nations, you might be one of the first Armenians to say something along these lines. I wonder if there are others out there, and also in Azerbaijan?
    Incidently, regarding youth going from cafe to cafe, it reminded me of a Diasporan Armenian who spent Independence Day in Stepanavan. Not one event staged to mark the event, and I guess the same is true in most other places in Armenia. Interesting.
    Cheers,

  2. Zarchka Says:

    You see, National holidays have their peculiarity and essence but that is known only to that exact nation. They are unique in their appearance and meanwhile many countries celebrate, for example, Day of Independence according to some significant fact of that nation’s history. I think establishing general holidays for the entire world is the greatest idea, for people are people, black or white, children are children naughty or calm, peace is peace wherever it is. Probably it’s what I feel, but I think it’s such an exciting sensation to know that the world is backing you that day, that the whole world keeps for the same ideology for that day. (Yeah, my romanticism is turning up). Just , right, the problem is to observe it properly and not only for a day. For instance, I liked this year’s International Children’s Day immensely. I felt it even on my own skin, the air was so joyous, so childish. But children must receive that attention every single day, always.

    And I’d like every single nation be willing to recognize such days, especially the day of peace, regardless of conflicts and ethnic problems The proverb says: “What you sow, so shall you reap”. Hatred is not a solution, it gains only hatred. Peace may be attained only by kind heart and conscious mind. Peace starts in each of us.

    Incidentally, I will be very busy in September as my classes begin, but I’m intending to do something, anything, though I know that preparations will take much time and enormous efforts which I lack. But I won’t hesitate, it’s already playing in my mind, so let’s see what will be then.
    Cheers

  3. Onnik Krikorian Says:

    Well, romaticism is always good. Wanting the best for the world can’t be bad, no matter how cynical and selfish people might seem at times. So, here’s hoping that the world can be formed somehow along the lines of what you envisage. Many of us want the same, so keep us all informed of what you have planned. While I might not exactly take part, I’d be willing to help out in any way I can and certainly, I’d like to cover it.

    In the meantime, it’s interesting to know if the U.N. in Armenia have issued any details of probably events although there might not be any because of this conflict with Independence Day, of course. However, I do know that there is meant to be a roller-skating for peace event planned in September. Georgian (sorry!😉 ) and Serbian roller skaters are due to attend, but I’m not exactly sure of the precise date. Maybe it’s for this International Day of Peace?

    I’ll see if I can dig anything out. How’s your roller-skating?😉

  4. Onnik Krikorian Says:

    Oooops. Got it wrong. The roller skating festival is scheduled for 4-6 August. Yikes, that’s Friday!

    http://www.myspace.com/rollerfest

    You remember we saw some of these guys at the International Children’s Day this year, but I hope there will be more skaters and activities for this event.

    I suspect there will be, and not least because international participants are expected from Georgia, Russia, Serbia, France and Macedonia.

    Glad you posted about the International Day of Peace. Would have forgotten about this skating event had you not.

    Cheers,

  5. Onnik Krikorian Says:

    Hmmm, interesting. According to the MySpace site, the Georgian rock band Young Georgian Lolitaz might be at the event. They were great at the Rock N’ People festival last September, although somewhat disappointing when they played at the Rock Without Borders festival earlier this year.

    Hmmm, maybe this Youth 4 Peace Skating Festival is worth a look…

  6. Zarchka Says:

    I see that’s a great event, Rollskating for Peace, it’s interesting I guess. Just no timing is mentioned, I don’t think they will be there the whole day. Pity that I gave my rollskates to a relative, I’d join them😉

  7. Onnik Krikorian Says:

    Uh oh. Just rang the festival’s organizers and the event HAS BEEN CANCELLED. Maybe postponed until September, but there is now NO FESTIVAL 4-6 August.😦

  8. Onnik Krikorian Says:

    Personnally, I think Armenians aren’t ready for such concepts as peace. Unfortunately, that also stretches to democracy, human rights and social justice😦

    On the other hand, all the more reason to change public perceptions and the mentality in general. Same in Azerbaijan and elsewhere too, I guess.

  9. Zarchka Says:

    And why it’s no wonder? I swear I knew that, I felt it someway. I even sent an email asking to confirm that the program was still on and asked about the time. No response yet. They talked big then, though we don’t know whether there were organizational problems. Everything is possible. So I don’t hurry to judge. Probably problems with Georgians?😉

    Anyways, I hope at least it will take place in September, and who knows, perhaps it will coincide with The International Day of Peace. That would be better though.

  10. Onnik Krikorian Says:

    Incidently, given what’s going on in Lebanon, I’d like to see the International Day of Peace focus on this. That’s not to support Hezbollah, but anyway.

    Some guy from UNICEF was on CNN this morning who said that 500,000 children in Lebanon are now IDPs. About 200 kids had been killed. That’s totally unacceptable.

    In fact, I’d like to see some kind of show of support on the streets of Yerevan, especially because of the number of Lebanese-Armenians here. Perhaps this year’s International Day of Peace should be used to urge Israel and Hezbollah to stop.

    Actually, let them not wait until September. Let them do it now.

  11. Onnik Krikorian Says:

    How about this? Write a song about peace. It could be just vocals or vocals/piano. Record it even if on the computer — you can get good enough quality for a not so bad sounding demo — and post it on the Internet. Then, let people listen to it, and if they like it, spread the word around. Why not?

    And if people like it, maybe a few international organizations like it enough to push for such days instead of what they usually do — that is, keep within the monopoly created by those closest to government which controls the music industry in Armenia.

    Basically, those singers only sing what they’re paid to sing. They never do anything because they’re driven to do so by their own inspiration, creativity or feelings. Let’s try to use the Internet to break this damn system. And if a message can be spread at the same time, it’s a double whammy as the Americans say.

    Even some lyrics posted with a translation, but maybe with a sound recording which I’m sure we’d all link to, would be something you could do for 21 September.

  12. Zarchka Says:

    Also an idea. Actually I have such a song, but I guess I underestimate it for making it available for other people. You know, I’m picky meanwhile not confident about my songs. Though I admit that they are far better than what we encounter in Armenian music scene. But who cares, really? The idea is good in itself, just it is unreachable methinks. I think the international organization thing must be sarcastic for who will pay heed to a song of an unknown someone from an unknown somewhere? Whereas while writing that song I meant mostly to teach it to the guys at SFP so we could sing it during our gatherings. But later I was shy to do that. Well, I’m really waiting, really I do, I’m waiting for my turn, just I’m afraid to miss it.

  13. Onnik Krikorian Says:

    You’ll never know if it’s good enough unless you try. As for the international organizations and the way many of them function through greasing the hands of both personal and official contacts, that’s the beauty of blogs and the Internet. We can break through that system and slowly it becomes part of the development of change.

    Yes, I know, naieve, but I believe in it.

Leave a Reply

