Love for Humanity – Onnik Krikorian’s exhibition

Finally Onnik’s long expected exhibition for Habitat for Humanity in
Armenia took place. This time trying somehow to avoid Onnik’s not direct blamings for not blogging on his previous exhibition due to some reasons, I’d dare express my opinions on this one (though actually in reality he threatened not to blog on my concert if I have any in future😉 , jokingly, jokingly, don’t take this seriously).

First and foremost I’d like to start with the photos themselves. These were something quite different if compared with the photos of the previous exhibition with Hetq Online. If the later had the endevour to enlighten people on some existing and thumping problems in
Armenia, this one was mainly concentrated on presenting the enormous humanitarian work carried out during Catholicos Karekin II Work Project. And no doubt, photojournalist Onnik Krikorian is sharp-eyed enough to pass to his film such shots which completely depict the reality of life in motion an in its real colors.

Half constructed buildings, volunteers of all ages with tools in their hands, faces of an extended family members full of hope to live in normal shelters, smiles of innocent children… Those are dumb witnesses of the unlimited love people may have for their work and humanity in general.

Letting alone other organizational details such as me getting bored of the Catholicos’s mild speech and tired of standing on foot because of lack of chairs, I enjoyed that special event. Incidentally on mentioning chairs, when people dispersed there were vacant chairs. An American woman who put her hand on my shoulder during a special blessing ceremony approached me, so I gave her my room. “I have problems with my knees,- she started,- I’m 65, but I won’t give up, I have to finish up my painting at those houses”,- she added laughingly.

Really amazing. An American woman of 65 is volunteering in a project and helps to construct houses for a nation she doesn’t know much about and doesn’t have any background connection. The impressions made on me by the photos and words of this woman made me ponder a little. It is that I could’ve participated and helped as well. It is that if foreigners “bothered” themselves to help, why shouldn’t I or any other local Armenian? Now I wished I had known a bit more and that it had been a convenient time for me to have my little investment in this project. Though it is not late yet, as it will be going on till September 9, unfortunately my classes have started and I can hardly take permission not to attend my lessons.

And on a different note just remembered some words: “We must not only give what we have, we must also give what we are”. So if you feel that you are full of love, don’t be afraid to share it with others. Let your love be your help and care for those in need…

Thanks a lot, Onnik, and my congratulations! The photos are great, I was doubtful though😉 . You are doing a good job, keep it on!

3 Responses to “Love for Humanity – Onnik Krikorian’s exhibition”

  1. Onnik Krikorian Says:

    Vay, shame me and embarrass me in the same post, and not least with the dig about blogging the exhibition, why don’t you…😉

    Sorry I couldn’t have heard you sing at the event. Not sure how I missed it, but anyway. As usual, glad you could have made it.🙂

    For all of that, I’ll redo your portrait one of these days…😉

    Poka.

  2. Onnik Krikorian Says:

    Guess what I’m trying to say is thanks for the kind words.🙂

  3. Oneworld Multimedia :: HFH Armenia Exhibition, The Club, Yerevan :: October :: 2006 Says:

    […] I’m told that Habitat for Humanity will be exhibiting some of my photographs at The Club in Yerevan from today through until Friday, I guess. The photographs were recently exhibited at the event to launch the Catholicos Karekin II Work Project which Zarchka blogged about here. […]

Leave a Reply

