Teacher by nature or education?!

It is already a week that I’m spending my pedagogical practice at a school. Students are always afraid of the first days of their practice, especially when the teachers complain how naughty the present young generation has become. Of course there are always one or two disobedient or lazy pupils in every class, especially among boys, who soon lose all kind of interest in studying.

The first week is supposed to be a passive practice i.e. when the students observe how the teacher conducts the lesson. It is already after that when the students become teachers by themselves. But 10 minutes had hardly passed from the first lesson when the teacher asked me to explain the passive voice to the pupils. Two days later I was already teaching at the class where I chose to be the main teacher of English for a month – 8 th form, 13 years old children.

What I really don’t like is when teachers shout at pupils or slap them. Right, some of the pupils really can drive them crazy, but now on my own experience I may clearly declare that it depends a lot on the teacher and how they conduct the lesson. As the majority of teachers are women problems appear mainly with schoolboys. There is always a gang of boys who are considered the “Lav tgheq” (good guys), who sass back and wag their tongues and none of the teachers should ever rebuke them. But even here there’s a common tongue for getting respect and understanding.

Sometimes or even usually they are so innocent and guiltless in their actions. It is so funny how mainly in junior classes they jump of their places raising their hands and trying to be noticeable so that the teacher asks exactly them to answer the question. When they don’t know the answers they pretend as if they hadn’t heard or are busy with doing some other thing. Instead of translating “They wash the cages of the animals” one of the pupils said “They wash the ears of the animals”. The whole class just roared with laughter. Or when they are still chewing their lunch when the bell has gone and the smell of the sausages is still felt in the classroom. Or when they are all but near to burst out with tears when they have forgotten the copy-book with homework inside at home. Though actually it is the cheapest way to get out of the situation when they just haven’t done their lessons. They are so funny!

The first day I meet the teacher of English who is as if my supervisor, she starts complaining that the pupils do not study, they are naughty, it is on the verge of insanity, they are unruled. Of course, with the methods she had, even I wouldn’t obey her or do any of her assignments. What I got was that the pupils didn’t respect her, besides the whole 40 minutes of the lesson was being wasted on 3-4 pupils, so the others, having nothing else to do, were chatting to each other and making a huge mess. The first day I went home with a terrible headache. But a day later I decided that I was already ready to take the situation in my own hands.

You had to see how excited the pupils were when I conducted the lesson. In all the classrooms they were asking me to be their teacher, but I had to choose only one class. In all the classes, from 4 th form to 10 th form, I managed to ask nearly all the pupils, yet I didn’t grade them. It is not important I think, at least in the beginning. I took a very serious expression on my face not forgetting to bring examples from some of their favorite subjects and also cracking several slight jokes. Everyone was so quiet as to grasp each of my words because I was carrying the lesson in a very balanced and calm voice. I assigned the home assignment and was very pleased when on the next lesson even the pupils who had never lifted their fingers to do anything had tried to prepare the lesson.

I got the general idea – to keep everyone active and involve them in the whole process of learning. They all are individuals and each of them must be presented with an individual approach. There are no good or bad pupils. If the pupil likes the teacher, they also like the subject and respecting the teacher is the only way to make even the laziest pupil in the world do their lessons.

It is quite the other aspect of the matter when the teachers do not pay attention to the rest of the pupils, thus making them take private lessons. In such a way they get additional money. This is, of course, another manifestation of corruption, other expressions of which are reflected at educational institutions. I will never admit the argumentation that teachers do it because their salaries are low. They can easily get along without it if their vocation is teaching and enlightening. Family education doesn’t have less importance, but it is exactly the teachers who upbring and educate our future generation. If once they take that responsibility, let they carry it well with dignity and pride till the end.

If you are a teacher by education first – quit!

3 Responses to “Teacher by nature or education?!”

  1. nazarian Says:

    You are absolutely right – each one of these kids is an individual person. As far as I remember my years in school, the teachers’ attention was focused on a handful of kids. The rest were simply ignored because they were considered dumb or ignorant. These kids would get bored and of course they had to direct their energy elsewhere which would result in a smack of a ‘cucapayt’.

    The only time I remember an unruly kid being engaged was during a class about reflexes. The teacher demonstrated it by lifting the stick on a kid who did not get hit normally. There was no reaction. But when the stick was raised next to an unruly kid, he lifted his arms to protect his head.

    Quite amusing for the kids who did not get beaten but not funny at all for the kids who were left out by the system.

  2. Zarchka Says:

    ‘Cucapayt’ (stick) is really disgusting, it is far an ancient way of punishing.

    Incidentally, at the 4th class I was asking the lesson randomly, not knowing the abilities of any of the pupils. When I invited to read the text one of the pupils who was keeping silence throughout the whole lesson, there was a strange stir between the pupils. Then the teacher hinted me not to ask him and said in English that he had tongue problems. I didn’t pay attention to her remark and tried to calm the other pupils down. Some of them just shouted: “He can not read, he can not read. May we?” I asked everyone to keep silence, which they did. I turned to that shy boy and asked him to read. What I found was that actually not that he had some tongue problems, but supposing so the teacher had never paid attention to him, and he just couldn’t distinguish the letters. When I pronounced the words he repeated them right after me without any difficulty. After I added: “Who said you cannot read? You read pretty well”. My words cheered him up a lot which I noticed in the grateful smile in his eyes. His classmates completely broke off for probably they had never heard him uttering an English word, as there was always the impression, on part of the teacher as well, that he is not able to utter distinct words, whereas as I found out later it was already 2 years that the schoolboy didn’t have any problems with utterance.

    This is also resulted by the lack of attention and individual approach to each of the children.

  3. H Says:

    Some if not most of them are not teachers but criminals. They are destroyers of young free souls.

Leave a Reply

