RABIZMANIA

And why did I stay at home and watched TV today? What happened is not much, actually, just that I got once more assured that Armenian music has already become crappy then ever and it can’t be worse.

There’s a musical program called “7 song” and they show best seven songs the succession of which is decided by the number of the SMSes people are sending for this or that video clip. No, this is ok. The question is in quite another thing.

In one of my past posts I wrote about a rabiz song sang by Armenchik and Qristine Pepelyan, the latter being an ex pop singer. I say an “ex” because now she has decided to turn into a total rabiz singer. She shot an extremely tasteless and over-rabiz video clip where she performs her dancing abilities or rather proves that she cannot move her body, and sings her recurrent rabiz melody with her “always unchangeable” deafened voice. It was funny to read one of the smses stating: “Your video clip resembles a Persian waffle” (Persian waffles are considered the most cheap and of the inferior quality). “Hey, Barbie, so many years passed and you didn’t learn singing and shaking your bum, (in the screen I mean)” – I guess I will SMS something like this.

Howerver, another pop-singer tried her destiny singing a rabiz song with a rabiz singer. Arminka and Arman Hovhannisyan. She had a real bummer! She is not able to take the highest notes, so in the middle of the song, when she is just tearing herself trying to keep up with Arman, eventually she takes lower notes. And that is throughout the whole song. And the video is a wretched one as well. How could it not! It is shot by Hrach Qeshishyan, the best director in Armenia, who knows only two colors – green and blue. No, blue is my favorite color as well, just all his videos without any exception are just smudged in blue and green. I would never trust him my videos be he the only director in the world.

It is terrible! It is outrageous in the case when everyone consider rabiz a low quality music whereas Armenian very famous singers are failing to sing them. Then why are they? Why don’t they busy their own pop music only? Simple, easy – because they don’t create for the sake of art. When I was gathering information regarding the selling of my songs I learnt that everyone now want songs with the rhythm 6/8, which is actually meant to be the traditional Armenian rhythm. I thought “Wow, people are returning to traditional melodies, not bad!!”. I thought so unless it dawned upon me that in reality those songs are welcomed at the restaurants with their feast parties. And if the singers have rabiz joyous songs they are more then welcomed to that restaurants and are well paid. Nothing personal, just people earn money, because the word “show-business” is understood and performed quite differently here.

My friend and his sister sell their songs for some not relative sum of money, that is to say they also admit that their songs are not something astounding but those singers are fighting for the right to own them. They order to write lyrics on say Khachik’s grandson Artashik, or somebody’s father and his children as to sing those song’s during birthday, wedding or christening parties and gain as much “shabash” ( money given to musicians by the party participants) as possible.

Therefore, this is the reason that our Armenian pop-singers are tearing their throats trying to do something close to rabiz singing. After those disappointments, let me sincerely admit that I deeply respected rabiz phenomenon. This doesn’t mean that I will compose 6/8 melodies with rabiz accompaniment in order to sell my songs, just that “Go rabiz, go” ??!!

3 Responses to “RABIZMANIA”

  1. Oneworld Multimedia :: Notes from the Armenian Blogosphere :: November :: 2006 Says:

    […] Which leads me on to the former Oneworld Multimedia protege herself, a wonderful singer as well as an intermittent blogger and general delight in her own right. On her blog she also decries the local music scene and the increasing tendency for pop singers to team up with rabiz stars probably because most of the population listens to the latter rather than the tripe pushed out as pop music on directly or indirectly State-controlled TV stations. Even so, it appears as that even then, they fail to entertain. It is terrible! It is outrageous in the case when everyone consider rabiz a low quality music whereas Armenian very famous singers are failing to sing them. Then why are they? Why don’t they busy their own pop music only? Simple, easy – because they don’t create for the sake of art. When I was gathering information regarding the selling of my songs I learnt that everyone now want songs with the rhythm 6/8, which is actually meant to be the traditional Armenian rhythm. I thought “Wow, people are returning to traditional melodies, not bad!!”. I thought so unless it dawned upon me that in reality those songs are welcomed at the restaurants with their feast parties. And if the singers have rabiz joyous songs they are more then welcomed to that restaurants and are well paid. Nothing personal, just people earn money, because the word “show-business” is understood and performed quite differently here. […]

  2. Gor Galstyan Says:

    She is prrety

  3. Uraaaaa!!!! No miming by law!!! « Life around me Says:

    […] number of entries I posted here regarding the same crappy, lifeless music in Armenia – Diversity??, Rabizmania, Temporal anthems… and a number of some […]

Leave a Reply

