Moscow nightmares – Life in fear

Moscow, 23 pm.
We take metro, my station is the last one, so I farewell my friends in the half way. As I get to the final point I try to get through my relative who is supposed to meet me at the metro exit. But I’m out of coverage, so I can’t call her. As I reach the final steps of the underground I notice a group of young Russians at the exit. My phone still refuses to work.

“It’s dangerous, never walk alone in Russia” as I remember people’s advice to me. I’m well aware of the innocent deaths of many Armenians (mentioning the last case and the ones I blogged about in the past). I want to chicken, but I also have to walk some 500 meters alone. I gather my black hair and cover with my hat, round the scarf over my mouth, put the cell-phone into my pocket, clench my fists ready for hitting if anything, and do my fastest and biggest steps ever in my life. Don’t ever remember me dreading so much. As I walked, I tried to peep back to make sure that no one follows me. When I turn to the corner my phone works and I call my relative asking her to open the door. “What? You are downstairs?”,- she utters.

Then I hear her voice coming from the balcony, “Zara…”. “Yes, I’m here, open the door”.
As I enter the room she runs to me with a horrified face: “Never, never, never do it again? Do you understand how dangerous it is to walk alone at night?!! I called your name from the balcony because I saw a man standing behind you, I thought he was following you”. I calmed her down and embraced, “You wouldn’t like me to wait at the metro with those young people around, would you?” We both laughed, though I was trying to conceal my fright. Thanks God I was safe and sound!

Am imagining people living there with fear in their hearts, fear for their children, with fear that they may be killed one day by a group of nationalists. With fear that one day their children might not come back from school and later their bodies will be found with nationalistic laces around their necks…

It is not a life… It’s a nightmare… When is the sunrise?

6 Responses to “Moscow nightmares – Life in fear”

  1. Mr. E Says:

    Hopefully Armenia will never be like that. So far there don’t seem to be too many problems regarding the minorities (Molokan Russians, Assyrians, Yezidi Kurds, etc.) Just a lack of proper education in their respective languages. Then again, I don’t think the Molokans speak Armenian. I hope things never turn out like that for them. Let Russia be the laughing stock of the [civilized] world.

  2. Oneworld Multimedia :: Notes from the Armenian Blogosphere :: January :: 2007 Says:

    […] recently returning from Russia, local blogger Zarchka at Life Around Me has made two posts here and here on what she experienced while visiting Armenia’s “strategic […]

  3. Onnik Krikorian Says:

    Molokans do learn Armenian, but in later life. Even so, the lingua franca in everyday interaction with Armenians is Russian. Kids before their late teens rarely understand Armenian in the villages, however. It’s said that most Molokan males learn Armenian in the army, but I’m not sure if that’s true or not. Anyway, you’re right in saying that minority education is a problem as I detailed here.

  4. Myrthe Says:

    A good friend recently returned from Russia where he had been working for four years. He told me he was once beaten up and stabbed by skinheads there. Fortunately for him, this happened right in front of his appartment. He managed to press the “domafon” (intercom) at the entrance and call his relatives. They understood what was happening and came down quickly, which made the attackers run away. My friend told me that the scariest thing was the way they suddenly came up from behind and that during the whole thing these guys didn’t say a word. Everything happened in silence.

  5. Olga Says:

    It’s really so sad and scary that racism is spreading through Moscow! My brown-skinned Canadian friends asked me twice to show them around Moscow, and they really don’t get it when I tell them that it’s too dangerous because of racism! I’d never forgive myself if my friend and guest was beaten up by skinheads!!! Racism poisons our society by spreading hatred, hurts our economy by scaring away tourists, and gives Russia a bad name. Look at the world history – it’s also extremely dangerous.

  6. Zarchka Says:

    Thanks Olga for your comment, especially when as a Russian citizem as I guess, you lament the situation.

Leave a Reply

